The £10,000 EPC C cost cap and exemptions, explained
How the planned cap works
The planned cost cap is £10,000 per property, and it is the most a landlord would be required to invest over a 10 year period. The government response of 21 January 2026 sets it out. It replaces today’s cap of £3,500 including VAT, which belongs to the current minimum standard of EPC E.
The cap is a limit on what you must spend, not a target. A landlord whose home meets the standard after £2,000 of work has no more to do. A landlord who has spent £10,000 and still falls short can register an exemption instead of spending further.
Nothing here is law yet. A statutory instrument is expected to come into force in 2027. The detail below follows the government response and may change in the regulations, so read it as the planned design.
| Today | Planned | |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | EPC E | EPC C equivalent by 1 October 2030 |
| Cost cap | £3,500 including VAT | £10,000 per property |
| Cap exemption length | Mostly 5 years | 10 years |
| Maximum fine | £5,000 per property in total | £30,000 per breach, per property |
| Status | In force | Regulations not yet laid |
What counts towards the cap
The response is specific about what counts. These items count:
- Relevant energy efficiency measures installed on or after 1 October 2025.
- Third party funding that you receive, including funding from government schemes. The response names Warm Homes: Local Grant and ECO4 among those that count.
- Reasonable EPC assessment costs, including the EPC you must commission after the works to show compliance.
- VAT on the work, which is zero rated for installing energy saving measures until 31 March 2027, then 5% from 1 April 2027 (HMRC VAT Notice 708/6).
One exclusion is clear in the response: funding received from the Boiler Upgrade Scheme does not count towards the cap. That is published policy, but the regulations are not yet laid, so the final rule may differ.
This matters for a heat pump. The Boiler Upgrade Scheme grant is £7,500 for an air-to-water or ground source heat pump, and a landlord who owns the rented property can apply through an MCS installer. If the grant does not count as spend, the part of the cost that you pay yourself is what moves you towards the cap. The page on the Boiler Upgrade Scheme for landlords covers eligibility, and the blog covers the cap question directly in does the Boiler Upgrade Scheme count towards the EPC cost cap.
Warm Homes: Local Grant has its own rule that bears on this. Public money cannot be used to meet the legal minimum, so EPC F and G rentals need a registered exemption before they can receive that funding. See the Warm Homes: Local Grant page.
The low value rule
For a property valued below £100,000, the planned cap is lower, equal to 10% of the property’s value. In practice that means the lower of £10,000 or 10% of value. A flat valued at £80,000 would have a planned cap of £8,000 on that basis. The response frames this as a property value adjustment exemption, with a 10 year validity.
You would need a valuation to rely on it, and the regulations will decide what evidence is accepted. Do not assume a figure for your own property without checking the final rules.
The exemptions, in one table
The response lists the exemptions below. Several already exist today and are being amended. The list may be refined when regulations arrive.
| Exemption | What it covers | Length stated |
|---|---|---|
| Cost cap | £10,000 spent, or the next cheapest improvement would take you over | 10 years |
| Property value adjustment | Lower cap for homes valued under £100,000 | 10 years |
| Negative impacts | Evidence a measure would harm the property | 10 years |
| Solid wall insulation | Landlord chooses not to install it where it is the only remaining measure for the fabric standard | Not specified in the response |
| High cost | Even the cheapest recommended improvement exceeds the cap | Not specified |
| All relevant improvements made | No further recommendations on the EPC | Not specified |
| Third party consent | Tenant, freeholder or planning authority consent refused | Typically 5 years |
| New landlord | Recently became a landlord | 6 months |
Exemptions are registered on the PRS Exemptions Register. When one expires, the landlord must try again to make improvements. The response also says the government will improve the register significantly and make enforcement easier through the private rented sector database that comes from the Renters’ Rights Act.
Worked example (modelled, not a real project)
This is an illustration, not a quote and not a real project. Every input is stated so you can swap in your own.
The property. A two bedroom mid terrace, currently EPC band D, valued above £100,000, so the full £10,000 cap applies. Mains gas boiler near the end of its life.
Assumptions (invented for illustration, not sourced prices):
- Loft insulation top up, draught proofing and other fabric work recommended on the EPC: £2,800.
- Two EPC assessments (before and after works): £240 in total.
- VAT is at 0% because the work is done before 31 March 2027.
Heat pump inputs from this site’s sourced figures:
- Typical air source heat pump cost before grant: around £12,000 (Energy Saving Trust, page updated 23 September 2026).
- Boiler Upgrade Scheme grant: £7,500.
| Line | £ |
|---|---|
| Fabric work (assumption) | 2,800 |
| EPC assessments (assumption) | 240 |
| Heat pump cost before grant | 12,000 |
| Less Boiler Upgrade Scheme grant | minus 7,500 |
| Heat pump cost paid by landlord | 4,500 |
| Counted towards the cap if BUS is excluded | 2,800 + 240 + 4,500 = 7,540 |
On these assumptions the landlord reaches £7,540 of counted spend, which is under the £10,000 cap. The cap exemption would not apply, because the measures can be completed within it. The landlord’s total outlay is the same £7,540, and the grant is separate.
Change one input and the picture changes. If the fabric work were £5,500, the counted spend would be £10,240, which is over the cap. The landlord would then reach the cap before completing everything, and the planned cap exemption would be in play for a period of 10 years, provided the evidence is in order.
Two cautions. First, the heat pump here is optional: the planned rule does not oblige a landlord to replace a working heating system with one, and the smart readiness route is the alternative. Second, the example assumes the regulations treat grant funded spend as the response describes. If the final text differs, the arithmetic changes. The same modelled sum, with your own figures, is available in the landlord calculator.
How the cost gets met
The cap defines how much you must spend. It says nothing about where the money comes from, and there are several routes, each with its own dates.
- Boiler Upgrade Scheme: £7,500 for an air-to-water or ground source heat pump. £9,000 only where oil or LPG heating is replaced and there is no mains gas connection, from 21 July 2026 to 31 March 2027. One grant per property.
- Warm Homes: Local Grant: England only, for lower income households in EPC D to G homes, privately owned or privately rented. A landlord’s first property can be fully funded, and from the second property the landlord contributes 50%. The window closes 31 March 2028.
- Warm Homes Loan Scheme: a lender loan, not a grant, open to private landlords. Heat pump loans go up to £20,000.
- ECO4: closes on 31 December 2026.
The grants and funding page lays these out side by side.
When the cap is not the right thing to focus on
Do not plan around the cap if the home already meets the planned standard. A property rated C or above on the Energy Efficiency Rating on an EPC lodged before 1 October 2029 stays compliant until that EPC expires, on the response’s transitional rule. For those homes, the sensible step is to note the expiry date and diary a review.
Also, do not treat the cap as a reason to avoid insulation. Fabric work is the first step of the planned standard, and it is often the cheapest part. On many homes the question is whether the fabric steps alone bring the property to the line. The EPC C 2030 and your heating choice page explains the order.
Next step
Look up the certificate for each rented home, list the recommended measures and put an honest price against each. Then compare the total with the planned cap. The EPC deadline checker and the landlord calculator help. If you want independent firms to price the work, send an enquiry on the quote page: relevant firms contact you, with no charge to you and no obligation.
Questions landlords ask about the cap
Does the Boiler Upgrade Scheme grant count towards the £10,000?
No, under published policy. The government response says funding from the Boiler Upgrade Scheme will not count towards the cost cap, while funding from other government schemes can. The exact wording will sit in regulations that have not been laid, so the final rule may differ. Check the final text.
Is £10,000 what I will have to spend on every property?
No. It is the maximum. The government's own impact figure for the average spend per property needed to meet the standard is £5,400. Many homes will need less, and some will already comply. Your own figure depends on the certificate and the measures it recommends.
Can I just register an exemption and do nothing?
Not safely. Exemptions are tied to specific grounds, they need evidence, and they are registered on the PRS Exemptions Register. The cost cap exemption only applies after the cap has been reached, or when the next cheapest improvement would take the total over it. Registering false or misleading information is itself penalised in the planned regime.
How the cost gets met
Most landlords end up combining a grant with their own money. These are the routes, with the condition attached to each:
- Boiler Upgrade Scheme: £7,500 towards an air-to-water or ground source heat pump, or £9,000 where oil or LPG heating is replaced in a home with no mains gas connection (until 31 March 2027); £2,500 for an air-to-air system. One grant per property, and landlords can apply as the owner.
- Warm Homes: Local Grant: for lower-income tenants in England in homes rated EPC D to G, through the council. A landlord's first property can be fully funded; from the second property the landlord contributes 50%. Landlords declare they will not raise the rent because of the funded work. Greater Manchester and West Midlands combined authority areas (including Manchester, Birmingham and Coventry) are outside the national scheme and set their own landlord terms.
- Warm Homes Loan Scheme: a lender's loan, not a grant, open to private landlords. Government pays lenders up to 20% of the loan, which must be passed on by lowering the nominal interest rate. The rules do not promise a zero rate.
- 0% VAT until 31 March 2027: installing heat pumps and insulation in homes is zero-rated until then, and 5% applies from 1 April 2027 (VAT Notice 708/6).
- Your own funds or borrowing: how an upgrade is treated for tax depends on the property and the work. This site does not give tax advice, so ask an accountant before you commit.
Questions landlords ask
What is the planned EPC C cost cap?
£10,000 per property, set out in the government response of 21 January 2026. For properties valued below £100,000 the planned maximum is lower, equal to 10% of the property's value. It is planned policy, and regulations have not been laid.
What is the cost cap today?
£3,500 including VAT, for the current minimum standard of EPC E. Exemptions mostly last 5 years and the maximum fine is £5,000 per property in total, according to the GOV.UK landlord guidance updated 5 May 2026.
Does spend I have already made count?
The government response says spend on relevant energy efficiency measures installed since 1 October 2025 can count towards the cap. Keep invoices and dated evidence.
How long does a cost cap exemption last?
The government response sets 10 years for the cost cap exemption. After it ends, you would need to try to improve the property again.
Do grants count towards the cap?
Third party funding can count, including funding from government schemes such as Warm Homes: Local Grant and ECO4, but not Boiler Upgrade Scheme funding. ECO4 closes on 31 December 2026. See the grants and funding page.
What is the maximum fine under the planned rules?
£30,000 per breach, per property, issued by local authorities. That is the planned maximum, not today's £5,000 total.
Sources
- DESNZ/MHCLG, Improving the energy performance of privately rented homes: 2025 update - government response (published 21 January 2026) (read 8 October 2026)
- DESNZ/MHCLG, Improving the energy performance of privately rented homes: government response (HTML, 21 January 2026) (read 8 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Domestic private rented property: minimum energy efficiency standard - landlord guidance (updated 5 May 2026) (read 8 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Apply for the Boiler Upgrade Scheme: check if you are eligible (read 8 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Apply for the Boiler Upgrade Scheme: what you can get (read 8 October 2026)
- Energy Saving Trust, Air source heat pumps (page updated 23 September 2026) (read 28 September 2026)
- DESNZ, Warm Homes: Local Grant policy guidance for local authorities (updated June 2026; GOV.UK update 2 July 2026) (read 7 October 2026)
- Ofgem, Energy Company Obligation (ECO4): scheme closing date (read 28 September 2026)
- HMRC, VAT Notice 708/6: energy-saving materials and heating equipment (read 7 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Find an energy certificate (read 8 October 2026)
Want quotes for a rental property, or a second opinion?
Tell us about the property. We pass your enquiry to relevant independent heat pump firms that cover your postcode, and they contact you directly. There is no charge to you for the introduction and no obligation to go ahead.
What happens next
- We read your enquiry and check which kind of firm can help.
- We pass it to relevant independent firms that cover your postcode.
- They contact you with questions or a quote. You compare, and decide — with no obligation to go ahead.